This was meant to be a chapter in my new book The Fix is Still In: More Corruption and Conspiracies the Pro Sports Leagues Don't Want You to Know About. However, in putting the book together, I kinda forgot I had worked this up for inclusion. So, consider this a "bonus chapter" even though not much is really written here. 

Basically, this is a list of all the NFL and MLB teams, when they built their newest stadium (or had it renovated) and the success each franchise enjoyed around that stadium's opening. What you will see is a fairly direct correlation between a team "needing"/wanting a new stadium and winning. Remember, too, that when a new stadium is announced, it will be at least a year before it actually opens, so when you see a team's good outcome occur before the stadium opened, that result is still tied to the stadium's opening. I think this list speaks for itself.

(I did not include NBA and NHL teams because there hasn't seemed to be any connection between those franchises and new stadiums. The "or else" demand -- we'll move if we don't get our way/our stadium -- always seems to be with NFL and MLB teams. And sorry about the margins).


Atlanta Falcons                    Mercedes Benz Stadium (2017)               Lost Super Bowl 2016

Minnesota Vikings               U.S. Bank Stadium (2016)                        Lost Wild Card 2015, Lost NFC Champ 2017

Miami Dolphins                    Hard Rock Stadium (2015*)                      Lost Wild Card 2016

San Francisco 49ers            Levi's Stadium (2014)                               Lost Super Bowl 2012

Kansas City Chiefs              Arrowhead Stadium (2010*)                       Lost Wild Card 2010

NY Giants                           MetLife Stadium (2010)                             Won Super Bowl 2011

NY Jets                               Metlife Stadium (2010)                              Lost Conf. Finals 2010

Dallas Cowboys                   AT&T Stadium (2009)                                Lost Divisional round 2009

Indianapolis Colts                Lucas Oil Stadium (2008)                           Lost Super Bowl 2009

Phoenix Cardinals                University of Phoenix Stadium (2006)          Lost Super Bowl 2008

New Orleans Saints             Mercedes-Benz Superdome (2006*)            Won Super Bowl 2009

Philadelphia Eagles              Lincoln Financial Field (2003)                    Lost Conf. Finals 2003; Super Bowl 2004

Chicago Bears                       Soldier Field (reno 2003)                         Lost Divisional 2005; Super Bowl 2006

Seattle Seahawks                 CenturyLink Field (2002)                        Lost Wild Card 2003, 2004; Super Bowl 2005

New England Patriots            Gillette Stadium (2002)                             Won Super Bowl 2003

Detroit Lions                         Ford Field (2002)                                      None             

Houston Texans                   NRG Stadium (2002)                                 Team founded in 2002              

Pittsburgh Steelers              Heinz Field (2001)                                     Lost Conf. Finals 2001

Denver Broncos                   Sports Authority Field (2001)                       Lost Wild Card 2003, 2004, 2005

Cincinnati Bengals               Paul Brown Stadium (2000)                        None

Cleveland Browns                FirstEnergy Stadium (1999)                        Team Founded in 1999

Baltimore Ravens                 M&T Bank Stadium (1998)                         Won Super Bowl 2000

Tennessee Titans                 Nissan Stadium (1999)                               Lost Super Bowl 1999

Tampa Bay Buccaneers      Raymond James Stadium (1998)             Lost Conf. Finals 1999, Won SB 2002

Washington Redskins          FedExField (1997)                                        None

Carolina Panthers                Bank of America Stadium (1996)                   Lost Conf. Finals 1996

Jacksonville Jaguars             EverBank Field (1995)                                 Team founded in 1995              

St. Louis Rams/LA Rams      Edward Jones Dome (1995)/New stadium (2020)   Won SB 1999/Lost SB 2018

Buffalo Bills                           New Era Field (1973)                                     None   

Oakland Raiders                   Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum (1966)      None


Atlanta Braves                      SunTrust Park (to open 2017)                   Lost LDS 2013

Texas Rangers                      Globe Life Park (‘16 voted for new ‘20)      Lost LDS 2015, 2016

Chicago Cubs                        Wrigley Field (2014*)                              Won World Series 2016

Miami Marlins                        Marlins Park (2012)                                    None

Minnesota Twins                     Target Field (2010)                                      Lost LDS 2009, 2010  

New York Yankees                 Yankee Stadium (2009)                              Won World Series 2009

New York Mets                       Citi Field (2009)                                       Lost World Series 2015

Kansas City Royals               Kauffman Stadium (2009*)                       Lost WS 2014, Won WS 2015

Washington Nationals            Nationals Park (2008)                                 Lost LDS 2012

St Louis Cardinals                  Busch Stadium (2006)                                Won World Series 2006

LA Dodgers                            Dodger Stadium (2005*)                           Lost LDS 2005, Lost NLCS 2008, 2009

Philadelphia Philles             Citizens Bank Park (2004)                          Lost LDS 2007, Won World Series 2008

San Diego Padres                 Petco Park (2004)                                        Lost LDS 2005, 2006

Cincinnati Reds                    Great American Ball Park (2003)                    None

Pittsburgh Pirates                PNC Park (2001)                                           None

Milwaukee Brewers              Miller Park (2001)                                       Lost LDS 2008

Houston Astros                    Minute Maid Park (2000)                   Lost LDS 1997-99, 2001, Lost World Series 2005

San Francisco Giants            AT&T Park (2000)                                      Won World Series 2010, 2012

Detroit Tigers                       Comerica Park (2000)                                 Lost World Series 2006

Seattle Mariners                  Safeco Field (1999)                                     Lost ALCS 2000, 2001

Arizona Diamondbacks       Chase Field (1998)                                       Lost LDS 1999, won World Series 2001

Anaheim Angles                   Angel Stadium (1997*)                               Won World Series 2002

Colorado Rockies                 Coors Field (1995)                                       Lost LDS 1995

Cleveland Indians                 Progressive Field (1994)                             Lost World Series 1995, 1997

Baltimore Orioles                Oriole Park at Camden Yards (1992)             Lost ALCS 1996, 1997

Chicago White Sox              Guaranteed Rate Field (1991)                       Lost ALCS 1993           

Tampa Bay Rays                   Tropicana Field (1990)                               Team founded in 1990              

Toronto Blue Jays                Rogers Centre (1989)                               Lost ALCS 1989, Won WS 1992, 1993

Oakland A’s                         Oakland Coliseum (1966)                           Won World Series 1972, 1973, 1974


*--denotes year of major renovation to stadium, not original construction